服務

諮詢

我們為所有諮詢提供充足的見面及會談時間,這讓我們有充足的時間會面、認識和檢查您的寵物,討論閣下愛寵的醫療保健需求並回答您可能遇到的任何問題。

外科手術

SKAH 配備了專門的手術室,我們的獸醫在常規和高級手術(如腫瘤切除、軟組織和腹部、膀胱、甲狀腺和創傷手術等)方面在本地和國際上擁有數十年的豐富經驗。

 我們建議利用絕育手術(去除卵巢及睪丸)以防止寵物意外懷孕,並幫助控制香港的流浪貓狗數量。 給寵物絕育還可以降低其他風險,例如打架受傷、偷走以及某些癌症和生殖系統疾病。 為母貓進行絕育手術時,除正身切外,我們還能夠提供側身切,以減低傷口在地上磨擦的機會。

在 SKAH,我們使用最新的麻醉劑和監測儀器以確保您的寵物在使用麻醉劑時有最大的安全。 一名專職護士會監測麻醉劑和術後恢復情況,確保您的寵物溫暖、舒適,並會按需要給予適當程度的止痛。

我們提供麻醉前血液測試,以檢查器官功能並根據閣下寵物的健康狀況定制麻醉劑。 我們也可能建議靜脈輸液(靜脈滴注)以維持血壓、保充水份和平衡電解質以加速復元。

預防保健

疫苗接種

為您的寵物接種傳染性和潛在致命疾病的疫苗是必不可少的。 我們遵循當前的疫苗接種協議,以確保您的寵物獲得所需的保護,這亦同時能夠確保我們不會過於頻繁地接種疫苗。 我們的獸醫會根據您居住的地區、寵物的年齡、醫療狀況和生活方式提出建議。

牙齒保健

寵物的牙齒衛生差是一個常見問題,這不僅僅是一個美容問題,它可能對健康產生更嚴重的影響,例如心臟和腎臟疾病。 牙齒疾病也可能非常痛苦,但是我們的寵物往往很好地隱藏了這一點。 在 SKAH,我們的目標是透過早期干預和定期檢查來預防牙齒疾病。 然而,有時候利用牙科手術來去除牙垢、減少口臭和拔除疼痛、患病的牙齒都是有需要的。

寄生蟲防治

對於某些寄生蟲感染,預防和早期發現對生命至關重要。 我們的獸醫可以對您的寵物進行常規預防性檢測,以幫助牠們避免經常致命的感染,例如蜱熱和心絲蟲感染。 我們會根據您的生活方式、寵物的年齡和居住地,為您的寵物提供不同的產品建議。



健康檢查

像人一樣,動物現在的壽命更長了。 健康的顯著變化可能會突然出現,尤其是在 8 歲之後。 作為預防保健的基石,我們建議為寵物進行年度健康檢查,以便及早發現高血壓、腎病、心臟病、癌症和貧血等疾病。 

及早發現疾病可降低寵物突然生病或死亡的風險。 在健康檢查期間,您的寵物將通過一般健康血液測試進行全面檢查,除此之外,還包括牙科、尿液和糞便檢查、血壓測量和甲狀腺功能測試(貓)。

飲食和減肥建議

寵物肥胖非常普遍,並會導致許多嚴重的疾病,情況令人憂慮。 超重的寵物可能會導致健康狀況下降、呼吸系統疾病、骨關節炎、糖尿病和背痛。 在香港,中暑和虛脫是肥胖寵物常見的危及生命的情況。 在 SKAH,我們的重點是預防, 我們首先要避免這些情況的出現。 因此,在每次諮詢期間,我們都會就您的寵物的身體狀況向您提供建議。 我們將提供減肥目標和建議,以保持閣下寵物的健康。



針灸

針灸是一種非藥物治療。 因此,它沒有其他形式的藥物可以看到的副作用。 針灸可以在整體健康和疾病預防方面提供出色的效果,它可以單獨用作治療療法或與其他療法結合使用。

傳統中方獸醫學(TCVM) 包括針灸,重點是恢復身體的能量平衡和幫助復元。 針灸是一種古老的治療方式,涉及將細針插入寵物身體的經絡或能量通道的特定區域。 針灸用於通過糾正能量失衡來幫助身體自癒.

在西醫方面,針灸的作用是

  • 刺激抑制疼痛衝動傳遞的神經
  • 刺激釋放安多酚(內啡肽),使心情輕鬆愉快,並有助於減輕疼痛

 

我們使用的針頭非常幼細,有一個圓形的尖端,可以分開肌肉纖維而不是切穿,它們比用於正常注射的針頭所引致的痛楚輕微。 過程有輕微的刺痛,但大多數動物都能忍受,而且當所有的針都扎進去後,許多動物會表現明顯放鬆。此外,我們還可以提供水刺(將維生素 B 注射到穴位)和電針(針灸穴位時將針接駁微電流)。 如有需要,歡迎閣下向我們的工作人員查詢您的寵物是否適合進行針灸。



診斷成像和實驗室-

數碼放射攝影

我們提供快速及成像高的數碼放射攝影(或 X 射線),這使我們能夠快速地檢查寵物的潛在疾病或傷害,並立即制定適當的診斷和治療計劃。
X 射線對於創傷性損傷(例如骨折)以及心臟和肺部疾病、膀胱結石、關節炎和腸道阻塞至關重要。

超聲波

超聲波檢查是一種用於評估寵物內部器官的非侵入性診斷治療方法。 為了方便寵物主人,你的寵物可以在我們的醫院中進行這些檢查。 大多數寵物都能接受超聲波,而超聲波檢查能夠提供有關內部結構(如心臟、肝臟、腎臟、膀胱和胃腸道等)的基本診斷信息。

實驗室測試

我們的內部實驗室設備齊全,可以進行血液(生化、電解質、全血細胞計數)、皮膚和尿液測試. 內部診斷變得越來越先進,我們還能夠在諮詢期間針對某些病毒和器官生物標誌物進行快速測試。 對於更具體的測試,我們使用本地和海外實驗室來獲得準確的診斷。

過敏測試

香港寵物過敏很常見,這對您和您的寵物都造成壓力。 我們的獸醫可以為您提供有關如何預防、診斷和管理寵物過敏的建議,包括使用補充劑、適當的食物和洗髮水、免疫調節藥物和免疫療法(定期注射使寵物脫敏)等治療方式。

人生階段護理

小狗和小貓護理

照顧家庭的新成員是一項重要的工作,它既有挑戰和責任,也有很多樂趣。 正確的護理選擇對於閣下寵物的行為、飲食、疾病預防和寄生蟲控制等方面都十分重要,並會對日後的生活帶來嚴重影響。 我們的獸醫將與您的家人合作,以確保您的新寵物得到最好的照顧,並確保您擁有妥善照顧新家庭成員所需的所有知識。

老年護理

跟人一樣,我們的老年寵物都需要定期監測以預防和治療疾病。 腎臟、關節炎、高血壓和心臟病等多器官疾病需要謹慎使用藥物和輔助療法的組合。 在最需要的時間和地點實現正確的平衡並提供有針對性的治療是非常重要的。 在 SKAH,我們優先考慮患者的舒適度,我們喜歡與患者(及其主人)合作制定計劃,以便您的寵物可以優雅、快樂和無痛地老去。我們也在這裡討論善終問題,並能為您提供可用的選擇,以確保您的寵物在最後的旅途中得到舒適和有尊嚴的照顧,協助您渡過困難時刻。

zh_HKChinese

Services

Consultation

We offer ample appointment lengths for all consultations. This allows plenty of time to meet, greet and examine your pet, discuss your pet’s healthcare needs and answer any questions that you may have.

Surgery

SKAH is equipped with a dedicated surgical suite and our veterinary surgeons have decades of experience locally and internationally in both routine and advanced procedures such as tumour removals, soft tissue and abdominal, bladder, thyroid and trauma surgery.

 Routine desexing (spey and neuter) is advised to prevent unwanted pregnancies and to help control the stray population of dogs and cats in Hong Kong. Neutering your pet can also reduce risks such as fight injuries, animals straying, as well as some cancers and reproductive diseases. We are able to offer flank speys for cats.

At SKAH we use the latest anaesthetic and monitoring equipment to help ensure your pet’s anesthetic is as safe as possible. A dedicated nurse monitors the anaesthetic and the post-operative recovery making sure your pet is warm, comfortable and has appropriate levels of pain relief administered.

We offer a pre-anaesthetic blood test to check organ function and tailor the anaesthetic to suit your pet’s health status. We may also suggest intravenous fluids (an IV drip) to maintain blood pressure, hydration and electrolyte balance and speed up recovery.

Preventative health care

Vaccination

Vaccinating your pet against contagious and potentially fatal diseases is essential. We follow current vaccination protocols to ensure that your pet has the protection it needs, whilst ensuring we do not vaccinate more often than necessary. Our vets will make recommendations based on the area you live, your pets age, medical condition and lifestyle.

Dental Care

Poor dental hygiene in our pets is a common problem. It is not only a cosmetic issue. It can have more serious health implications such as heart and kidney disease. Dental disease can also be very painful and our pets hide this well. At SKAH, we aim to prevent dental disease with early intervention and regular checkups. However, sometimes dental procedures are needed to remove tartar, reduce halitosis (bad breath) and extract painful, diseased teeth.

Parasite Prevention and Treatment

For some parasite infections, prevention and early detection are critical to life. Our veterinarians can do routine preventative testing on your pets to help them avoid often fatal infections such as tick fever and heartworm infection. We will advise you about the different products available for your pet depending on lifestyle, age and where you live.



Wellness Checks

Like people, animals are now living longer. Significant changes in health can occur quickly, especially after the age of 8 years. As a cornerstone of preventative care, annual wellness examinations of your pets are advised for early detection of diseases such as hypertension (high blood pressure), renal disease, heart disease, cancer and anemia. 

Early detection of diseases reduces the risk of your pet suddenly becoming ill or unexpectedly passing away. During a wellness exam, your pet will have a comprehensive check up with a general health blood test. A dental, urine and fecal exam, blood pressure measurement and a thyroid function test (cats) is also included.

Diet and weight loss advice

Sadly, obesity in pets is very common and can contribute to many serious diseases.  Overweight pets can suffer from reduced fitness, respiratory disease, osteoarthritis, diabetes and back pain. Heatstroke and collapse are life-threatening conditions common in obese pets in Hong Kong. At SKAH, our focus is on prevention; we want to avoid these conditions in the first place. As such, during every consultation, we will advise you about your pet’s body condition. We will provide weight loss goals and advice to keep your pet fit and healthy.



Acupuncture

Acupuncture is a non-medication form of treatment. Therefore, it does not have the side-effects that can be seen with other forms of medication. Acupuncture can offer fantastic results in overall health and disease prevention and can be used alone as a treatment therapy or in conjunction with other therapies.

Traditional Chinese Veterinary Medicine (TCVM) includes acupuncture, which focuses on restoring the body’s energy balance and aiding recovery. Acupuncture is an ancient treatment modality that involves inserting tiny needles into a pet’s body at specific areas along the meridians or energy channels. Acupuncture is used to assist the body in healing itself by correcting energy imbalances.

In terms of Western Medicine, acupuncture works by

  • Stimulating the nerves which inhibit the transmission of pain impulses.
  • Releasing endorphins. This increases the feeling of wellbeing and helps to alleviate pain.

 

The needles that we use are extremely fine and have a rounded tip that separates the muscle fibres rather than cutting through.  They are much less painful than needles used for normal injections. There is a slight sting, but most animals tolerate them really well and many animals visibly relax once all the needles are in. We can also offer aquapuncture (an injection of Vitamin B into acupuncture points) and electroacupunture (passing a small electric current through acupuncture points). Ask our staff if your pet is suitable.



Diagnostic Imaging and laboratory

Digital Radiography

We offer digital radiography (or Xray) which produces fast high-quality images. This allows us to investigate your pet’s potential illness or injury quickly and make an appropriate diagnosis and treatment plan without delay.
XRays are vital for traumatic injuries such as broken bones, as well as heart and lung disease, bladder stones, arthritis and intestinal obstructions.

Ultrasonography

Ultrasonography is a non-invasive, diagnostic treatment for evaluating your pet's internal organs. These examinations are available at our facility for your convenience. Ultrasound is generally tolerated by the majority of pets and provides essential diagnostic information about the internal structures such as the heart, liver, kidneys, bladder and gastro-intestinal tract.

Laboratory

Our in-house laboratory is well-equipped, and we can carry out blood tests (biochemistry, electrolytes, complete blood count), skin and urine tests. In-house diagnostics are becoming increasingly advanced; we are also able to rapidly test for some viruses and organ biomarkers during a consultation. For more specific tests, we use both local and overseas laboratories to obtain an accurate diagnosis.

Allergy Testing

Allergies in our Hong Kong pets are common and are stressful for both you and your pet. Our vets can advise you on how to prevent, diagnose and manage your pet’s allergies using treatment modalities ranging from supplements, appropriate foods and shampoos to immune-modifying medications and immunotherapy (regular injections to desensitise your pet).

Life stage care

Puppy and Kitten care

Caring for a new member of the family is an important job that comes with its own challenges and responsibilities as well as a lot of fun. It is important to get it right as the choices you make early on regarding behaviour, diet, disease prevention and parasitic control can have serious implications later on in life. Our vets will work with your family to ensure that your new pet receives the best possible care and that you have all of the knowledge you require to care for your new family member properly.

Senior or Geriatric Care

Like people, our senior pets need regular monitoring for prevention and treatment of disease. Multi-organ diseases such as kidney, arthritis, hypertension (high blood pressure) and heart diseases require careful use of a combination of medicines and adjunctive therapies. It is very important to achieve the right balance and provide targeted treatment when and where it is most needed. At SKAH we prioritise patient comfort and we like to work with our patients (and their humans) to make a plan so that your pet can age gracefully, happily and pain-free. We are also here to discuss end of life issues and to guide you through the available options to ensure your pet receives comfortable and dignified care in the sad event that it is time to say goodbye.

en_USEnglish